Inaugural Class Announcement

Jigme Singye Wangchuck School of Law is pleased to announce the results of its 2017 undergraduate admissions process.

The deadline for applications was 15 January 2017, and 499 students applied for admissions. Of those, 132 qualified to sit for the first-ever Bhutanese Law School Admission Test (Bhutan-LSAT), as a result of scoring 60% or more on English and Dzongkha in their BHSEC-XII examination.

126 students sat for the examination at three locations across the country (Thimphu, Gelephu, and Trashigang). This group was narrowed down to 50 finalists, as a result of a process that allocated 30 points to the BHSEC-XII examination results and 45 points to the Bhutan-LSAT.

The fifty short-listed finalists were invited to Thimphu to sit for a 45-minute interview with the law school’s admissions committee. 25 points were allocated to the interview result.
As a result of all three elements, the finalists were ranked and students were offered admission to the law school. The top twenty-five students were offered seats in the law school’s first entering class.

The final results are as follows:

1Tashi Norbu01216009013329.8442.1423.2895.25
2Lekzin Pelden Lhamo01216016009124.5440.3523.1788.06
3Kuenley Lhaden Gyaltshen01216027003021.0741.4224.1186.60
4Yang Tshering Sherpa01216003022917.7040.0024.8282.52
5Yeshi Nidup01216129001513.4344.2824.4682.17
6Ugyen Pem01216025035422.2238.5721.2182.00
7Yeshi Dorji01216063003517.9543.2120.2481.40
8Jigme Namgyel01216018020713.7845.0022.2381.00
9Tandin Dorji01216087006918.6538.9322.2779.84
10Sonam Tenzin01216028001912.9741.7824.3479.09
11Leki Tshering01216013026312.9143.9221.7478.58
12Sonam Wangzom01216016007213.0041.0722.3976.46
13Tshering Dechen01216022006517.0635.3522.4374.84
14Tandin Wangchuk01216026001411.8942.4919.8674.24
15Tshering Dekar01216009009122.2034.2817.5974.07
17Tenzin Selden0121607900956.6244.6421.6472.90
18Pema Yangchen01216009000814.9139.6418.1372.67
19Ngawang Choden01216001001715.7736.4220.2972.48
20Tika Ram Basnet01215073006620.5330.7121.0072.24
21Phuntsho Wangmo01216018003614.5034.6422.6971.83
22Karma Lhazin01216012010912.9436.0722.3271.33
23Gyem Tshering01216011004215.1537.1419.0471.32
24Sangay Dorji01216025013710.4740.7119.8271.00
25Tshedrup Zangmo01216022003015.5533.5721.0270.13
26Sonam Yangchen01216011007213.2932.4924.0769.86

Note: One student, Gyem Tshering, declined the offer to enroll. Therefore, the Admissions Committee elected to invite the first wait-listed student, ranked #26, to attend.

The Admissions Committee offers its congratulations to our incoming Class of 2022. And the Committee also thanks all of the other candidates who applied and participated in this historic first-ever admissions cycle.